Freeform Fabrication


The 32nd Annual Meeting will be held August 2-4, 2021

The Conference

Three Days of High-Level Research Presentations
2-4 August 2021


If you are registered, you may:

  • Firefox and Chrome are preferred web platforms.

  • Enter Login Name: This is the e-mail address you used for registration.

  • Enter Password: This is your unique order number found on your registration confirmation.

If you still need to register, you may register here. After you register, please allow up to a few hours to gain access to the platform.  Joining late?  No problem.  All content will be available through August 31.


The conference "Schedule at a Glance" is posted here.  The conference FULL program is posted here.  Presently, there are 426 presentations.  You can view the short program here.  Instructions for how to navigate the virtual platform are provided here.


This year's Freeform and Additive Manufacturing Excellence (FAME) award winners are Professor Ola Harrysson from North Carolina State University (senior award) and Professor Joy Gockel from the Colorado School of Mines (young researcher award).  Both will give presentations Monday morning, August 2, at the conference.  Following will be a brief awards ceremony.

The 2021 meeting is VIRTUAL!

It will still be held three full days, August 2-4, 2021, from 8 AM to ~5:30 PM Central Standard Time (GMT -5). While we would have preferred to be in person and will miss the face-to-face interactions, we feel that in early August there will be an unpredictable level of uncertainty about safety of participants and lifting of travel restrictions.  We will be taking full advantage of the benefits of a virtual platform.  This includes:

* Reduced registration cost and elimination of travel expenses

* Free access for US and foreign students studying at US universities (limit 175 students who successfully complete a registration waiver application and are selected)

* Access to ALL presentations through asynchronous viewing options; that is, no parallel session conflicts

* Ample opportunity for live interaction

* Virtual social/live interaction events

* Graduate student interactive panel

* A vibrant poster session

* Asynchronous participation options for international participants and those who may have time conflicts for all or part of the conference

* EXTENSION of the abstract submission deadline to APRIL 30





Hilton Austin

There is no lodging option, since the meeting is now fully VIRTUAL.


Important Dates

Important upcoming dates

Presenters Information

Presenter Aids


All presenters MUST register for the conference by June 21.  All presentations must be uploaded into the Bravura platform no later than July 19.  Instructions for uploading , a speaker FAQ sheet, a conference Zoom background and a PowerPoint presentation background are available below.  The backgrounds are completely optional and  are provided for those wishing to use them.


Manuscript and Proceedings Information

Authors must present their work at the meeting to have their manuscript included in the proceedings.  Click here to download manuscript instructions.  Manuscript submission is optional for presenters.  Authors submitting manuscripts have the option to have their manuscript reviewed/refereed.  Having a conference proceedings article reviewed is important to some authors, particularly academicians. Each manuscript receives two reviews using a referee pool composed of all authors submitting reviewed manuscripts. Authors selecting reviewed status for their manuscript must review two other manuscripts.  Reviews are due August 2; final manuscripts are due September 3.

Papers presented as oral presentations or in the poster session will be published.  Each person (including students) registering for the full meeting will receive a download version ~3 months after the meeting.  Hard copies (swing-hinge format) are available for purchase.  Proceedings papers will be accessible and downloadable on line on the home page at no charge. Past Proceedings articles are available on this website at no charge.  Please select the "Proceedings Archive" menu under the "More" tab.


FAME Awards


International Freeform and Additive Manufacturing Excellence (FAME) Award

The FAME Award is given annually to recognize an outstanding researcher in the field of freeform/additive fabrication.  The award consists of a certificate, freeformed trophy and check for $2000. For the 2021 award, the nomination packet should be received by May 1 to receive full consideration, but nominations will be accepted until the selection committee meets.  The award winners will present technical talks Monday morning at the conference and will receive their awards at the Awards Banquet Monday evening.

Nomination Details and Form Word | PDF

International Outstanding Young Researcher in Freeform and Additive Manufacturing Award

The International Outstanding Young Researcher in Freeform and Additive Manufacturing Award is given annually to recognize an outstanding young researcher in the field of freeform/additive fabrication early in their career. To be eligible, applicants must be 35 years old or younger on August 1 of the year in which the award is presented. The award consists of a certificate, freeformed trophy and a check for $1000. The nomination packet should be received by May 1 to receive full consideration, but nominations will be accepted until the selection committee meets.

Application Details and Form Word | PDF

Previous Recipients

Year          Senior Award                                                                 Young Researcher Award

2021         Ola Harrysson, North Carolina State University         Joy Gockel, Colorado School of Mines

2020         Ming Leu, Missouri Univ. of Science and Technol.     Abdalla Nassar, Penn State University

2019         Olaf Diegel, University of Auckland                            Rayne Zheng, Virginia Tech

2018         Chee Kai Chua, Singapore Univ. Technol/Design      Guha Manogharan, Penn State Univ.

2017         Ian Gibson, University of Twente                                 Allison Beese, Penn State University

2016         Brent Stucker, ANSYS                                                   Li Yang, University of Louisville

2015         Richard Hague, University of Nottingham                  Ibrahim Ozbolat, Penn State University

2014         Joseph Beaman, University of Texas at Austin           Adam Clare, University of Nottingham

2013         David Rosen, Georgia Tech University                        April Cooke, Trumpf North America

2012         Jean-Pierre Kruth, KU Leuven                                      Christopher Williams, Virginia Tech

2011         Dave Bourell, University of Texas at Austin                 Candice Majewski, Sheffield University

2010         Gideon Levy, TTA Technology Turn Around               Peter Mercelis, LayerWise N.V.

2009         Phill Dickens, University of Nottingham                      Carolyn Seepersad, Univ. Texas Austin


There will be several special events during the 32nd Annual SFF Symposium VIRTUAL meeting.  Please see the final program for networking events, virtual social functions and a special session for graduate students.









Proceedings Archive

Please click the year in question.  A Table of Contents will open with links to pdf versions of the papers for that year.  Files may be freely downloaded.  Respecting permissions to republish, short excerpts including figures may be republished so long as it is appropriately cited.  If written permission is needed, please contact Dave Bourell directly,  Due to COVID-19, there is no published proceedings for the 31st Annual Meeting (2020).